Iowa NTT IndyCar Series Race Season

Championship leader Newgarden leads opening practice for Iowa 300

Story Credit: Jared DePouw
Photo Credit: INDYCAR Photo

The 22 drivers of the NTT IndyCar Series would take to the steep banks of Iowa Speedway for their only practice session before qualifying later today. In total the 22 cars would turn 1028 total laps over the one-hour session, an average of about 46.7 laps per driver.

The biggest story of the morning practice session was the heat. Just prior to the start of practice, track temperatures reached 106°F and peaked at 112°F before the end of the session. INDYCAR allowed teams to set up canopies on pit lane in order to provide more shade for teams to work.

Overall the session went off smoothly, with no on-track incidents and only two caution periods for track inspections. Despite speeds being down nearly 4mph from last year’s practice, the gap between the entire field was only 1.009 seconds.

Practice #1 Top 10

P1:         Josef Newgarden (179.838)
P2:         Simon Pagenaud (178.533)
P3:         Will Power (178.400)
P4:         Alexander Rossi (177.595)
P5:         Scott Dixon (177.445)
P6:         Ryan Hunter-Reay (177.287)
P7:         Tony Kanaan (176.326)
P8:         James Hinchcliffe (176.271)
P9:         Felix Rosenqvist (175.929)
P10:       Zach Veach (175.626)

Fastest No-Tow Lap: Colton Herta (172.028mph)

Next session is single-car qualifying which begins at 2pm ET on NBC Sports Network followed by a 60-minute final practice at 7pm ET on NBC Sports Gold.

Jared DePouw
Jared is the founder of but works as a small business accountant. He also officiates high school football and lacrosse in his free time.