Barber Indy Lights Road to Indy

Lundqvist Victorious on the Return of Indy Lights in Alabama

Story Credit: Road to Indy PR
Photo Credit: Road to Indy Photo

LEEDS, Ala. – Sweden’s Linus Lundqvist this afternoon claimed an emphatic victory for the Global Racing Group with HMD Motorsports team as Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires made its eagerly anticipated return to the Road to Indy Presented by Cooper Tires driver development ladder following a one-year hiatus. Teammate Benjamin Pedersen, from Seattle, Wash., followed him home in second place, just ahead of Italian-Canadian Devlin DeFrancesco, from Miami, Fla., who completed the podium for Andretti Steinbrenner Autosport.
Lundqvist, the 2018 BRDC British Formula 3 champion who romped to victory in last year’s Formula Regional Americas Championship powered by Honda, laid down a marker by claiming the first Cooper Tires Pole Award of the season in qualifying yesterday at the pristine 2.3-mile Barber Motorsports Park road course. His lap of 1:11.5149 (115.780 mph) represented a new qualifying lap record.
Lundqvist’s task today was eased considerably on the opening lap when HMD Motorsports teammate David Malukas, from Chicago, Ill., was inadvertently nudged off the road and into the barriers at Turn One by two-time Road to Indy champion Kyle Kirkwood (Andretti Autosport). The unfortunate Malukas was out on the spot, although he will have an opportunity for redemption tomorrow when he starts from pole position for the second leg of this weekend’s Indy Lights Grand Prix of Alabama Presented by Cooper Tires following a separate qualifying session held on Friday afternoon.
After a pit stop to replace a broken front wing, Kirkwood, winner of the 2018 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship and the 2019 Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires, rejoined at the back of the 13-car field and was able to move up to ninth by the completion of the 30-lap race.
Lundqvist took off confidently in the lead following a full-course caution while Malukas’ stricken car was recovered. The Swede completed the first full lap of racing 1.6 seconds clear of his Danish-born teammate, and thereafter stretched his lead slowly but surely before taking the checkered flag 5.3517 seconds ahead of Pedersen to ensure a dream Indy Lights debut for the Scandinavian pair.
DeFrancesco profited from the first-lap incident to vault from sixth on the grid to fourth, then took advantage of a slight slip by Englishman Toby Sowery (Juncos Racing), who slid wide at the exit of Turn Six, on the seventh lap to move up to third. DeFrancesco slipped as much as 2.5 seconds behind Pedersen before closing in during the late stages and finishing right on the Dane’s tail. DeFrancesco’s performance earned him the Tilton Hard Charger Award.
Sowery recovered to finish fourth. He also took the honor of a new lap record, 1:12.7718 (113.780 mph), narrowly edging out Lundqvist’s best with just a couple of laps remaining.
Australian Alex Peroni finished fifth on the Carlin team’s return to Indy Lights for the first time since 2017, followed by Robert Megennis (Andretti Autosport), from New York, N.Y., who held off a race-long challenge from teammate Danial Frost, from Singapore, last year’s Indy Pro 2000 champion Sting Ray Robb (Juncos Racing), from Payette, Idaho, and Kirkwood.
The second round of the championship will see the green flag tomorrow at 12:20 p.m. CDT, immediately prior to the headline event, the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama, the opening round of the 2021 NTT INDYCAR SERIES.
Provisional championship points after 1 of 20 races:
1. Linus Lundqvist, 32
2. Benjamin Pedersen, 25
3. Devlin DeFrancesco, 22
4. Toby Sowery, 19
5. Alex Peroni, 17
6. Robert Megennis, 15
7. Danial Frost, 14
8. Sting Ray Robb, 13
9. Kyle Kirkwood, 12
10. Christian Bogle, 11
Jared DePouw
Jared is the founder of but works as a small business accountant. He also officiates high school football and lacrosse in his free time.