Indy Lights Road to Indy St. Petersburg

Malukas Wins for HMD to Take Indy Lights Points Lead

Story Credit: Road to Indy PR
Photo Credit: Road to Indy Photo

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. – David Malukas withstood enormous pressure from yesterday’s winner Kyle Kirkwood to claim a memorable victory in this morning’s thrilling 40-lap Indy Lights Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Presented by Andersen Interior Contracting. The second win of the young season for Malukas, from Chicago, Ill., was enough to move the rising star from HMD Motorsports into a slender three-point championship lead ahead of Global Racing Group with HMD Motorsports stablemate Linus Lundqvist, from Sweden, who finished third. Andretti Autosport’s Kirkwood, from Jupiter, Fla., now lies only another five markers adrift in third.
At stake is a scholarship valued at almost $1.3 million to guarantee entry into a minimum of three NTT INDYCAR SERIES races, including the Indianapolis 500, in 2022.
Just as was the case for last week’s opening event of the season at the Barber Motorsports Park road course in rural Alabama, Malukas today started from the inside of the front row of the grid after snagging the Cooper Tires Pole Award with a new lap record in qualifying on Friday.
With Kirkwood starting alongside on the front row, Malukas must have been mindful of the contact from Kirkwood in the opening race of the season which had ended Malukas’ day. But as they accelerated toward the heavy braking area for Turn One on the opening lap, the Chicagoan made sure to protect the inside line. Kirkwood tried his hardest to make a pass on the outside of the right-handed corner but Malukas, just 19 years of age, forcefully defended his position. The pair even made light wheel-to-wheel contact on the exit before Kirkwood was obliged to drop back into line. The racing was hard but fair.
Malukas immediately put his head down and pulled out a gap of over two seconds, only for that advantage to be erased by a full-course caution after rookie Christian Bogle, from Covington, La., deposited his Carlin Dallara-AER IL-15 into the barriers at Turn 13.
The battle for the lead was resumed at the restart, until Malukas once more began to assert his authority. A series of fastest laps, including a new lap record, eclipsing the old standard set in 2018 by Colton Herta, enabled Malukas to extend his lead to as much as 3.1 seconds after 22 laps.
But after winning successive Road to Indy scholarships in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship (2018) and the Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires (2019), Kirkwood wasn’t prepared to settle for second. The deficit to Malukas came down incrementally at first as the pair continued to trade fastest laps, then more substantially after Malukas, pushing right to the limit, grazed the outside retaining wall at the exit of Turn 14 with four laps remaining.
Kirkwood continued to push hard, finally establishing a new lap record at 1:14.9562 (99.760 mph), but Malukas wasn’t to be denied, soaking up all the pressure and taking the checkered flag just 0.6829 of a second clear of his rival.
Lundqvist efforts were overshadowed by the two leaders but, on his first visit to St. Petersburg, the Swede made up three positions on the opening lap before executing a bold pass on Italian-Canadian Devlin DeFrancesco (Andretti Steinbrenner Autosport) to move into third, where he remained. Lundqvist also took home the Tilton Hard Charger Award.
Singapore’s Danial Frost enjoyed another strong day, taking fourth for Andretti Autosport ahead of DeFrancesco, with Dane Benjamin Pedersen (Global Racing Group w/ HMD Motorsports) finding a way past Robert Megennis (Andretti Autosport), from New York, NY., for sixth in the closing stages.
The Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires season will continue with another double-header event at the Indianapolis Grand Prix road course, once again in support of the NTT INDYCAR SERIES on May 14/15.
Provisional championship points after 4 of 20 races:
1. David Malukas, 94
2. Linus Lundqvist, 91
3. Kyle Kirkwood, 86
4. Devlin DeFrancesco, 70
5. Danial Frost, 67
6. Benjamin Pedersen, 65
7. Alex Peroni, 62
8. Toby Sowery, 58
9. Robert Megennis, 56
10. Sting Ray Robb, 49
Jared DePouw
Jared is the founder of but works as a small business accountant. He also officiates high school football and lacrosse in his free time.