Simon Pagenaud dominated in his third straight victory
NTT IndyCar Series

Race Day Coverage from the Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis

Story Credit: INDYCAR PR
Photo Credit: Jared DePouw

{boxplus href=”images/News/2016IndyGP/SATPagenaud.jpg” title=”Photo Credit Jared DePouw”}Simon Pagenaud dominated in his third straight victory{/boxplus}

2016 is quickly becoming the year of the Pagenaud. For the third consecutive race, Simon Pagenaud dominated the Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis, and is his second race in a row to win from pole. Pagenaud also became the first Verizon IndyCar Series driver to win three consecutive races since Scott Dixon won at Pocono and then both ends of the Toronto doubleheader to propel him to the 2013 championship.

“What a day,” said Pagenaud, who also won the inaugural Angie’s List Grand Prix in 2014. “Three races! It’s incredible to win three in a row like this and, here in Indy for me, it’s very special. I lived here for nine years so this place is very special in my heart.”

Pagenaud, in the No. 22 Menards Team Penske Chevrolet, finished 4.4748 seconds ahead of teammate Helio Castroneves. The key to victory came on Pagenaud’s final stop on Lap 63, when he entered and exited the pits with the lead.

“The car was fantastic once again,” Pagenaud said. “The balance was perfect all race. When we were in the lead, we were cruising, doing what we could to save the tires. But the car was just fantastic to drive.

“It was very difficult on cold tires, so you could really make some ground on the pit sequence,” he added. “After the first (stop), I realized it was something to do with it. I let Kyle (Moyer, race strategist) know. He already knew but that’s what we did the next two pit stops. We did the opposite and it worked. Thanks to my guys.”

Pagenaud has collected 242 points and hasn’t finished worse than second in any of the first five races. Reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon, who finished seventh today in the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet, is second in the standings with 166 points.

Castroneves was pleased with his runner-up finish in the No. 3 hum by Verizon Team Penske Chevy. It was the Brazilian’s 39th career second-place finish, second on the all-time list, and his 88th career podium, tying him with Bobby Rahal and Al Unser Jr. for sixth all time.

{boxplus href=”images/News/2016IndyGP/SATCastroneves.jpg” title=”Photo Credit Jared DePouw”}Helio Castroneves finished second with a solid run{/boxplus}

“Great teamwork. Never give up,” Castroneves said. “The hum by Verizon boys, everybody was really in sync. We never gave up because we knew we had issues and knew we didn’t have the fastest car, but we had the heart, man. We had the passion. We put it out there and had a little bit of luck, obviously, but it all blends together.”

James Hinchcliffe had his best run of the season, starting and finishing third in the No. 5 Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda. The native Canadian pledged $15,000 of his winnings to the Canadian Red Cross to assist in relief for the Fort McMurray wildfires in the Alberta province.

{boxplus href=”images/News/2016IndyGP/SATHinchcliffe.jpg” title=”Photo Credit Jared DePouw”}James Hinchcliffe started and finished third for his first podium of the season{/boxplus}

“We had a great car,” Hinchcliffe said. “Huge credit to everybody at Schmidt Peterson. The Arrow Electronics car was great all weekend. Missed the whole first practice, managed to put it on the second row (in qualifying). Got caught up on some of the restarts there but the guys were awesome in the pits. We were way quicker than Helio but just didn’t have enough to get by him. Great result.”

Graham Rahal came from 24th starting position to finish fourth in the No. 15 Steak ‘n Shake Honda, while Chip Ganassi Racing’s Charlie Kimball was fifth in the No. 83 Tresiba Chevrolet.

{boxplus href=”images/News/2016IndyGP/SATRahal.jpg” title=”Photo Credit Jared DePouw”}Graham Rahal powered his way to finish fourth after starting 24th{/boxplus}

The Verizon IndyCar Series teams remain in Indianapolis, as next up is the historic 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil on May 29 (11 a.m. ET, ABC and Advance Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network).

Earlier in the day Andretti Autosport unveiled the livery for Townsend Bell’s #29 entry for the 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500. The entry has been nicknamed Californication by Bell due to the combined sponsorship of California Pizza Kitchen and Robert Graham.

{boxplus href=”images/News/2016IndyGP/SATTownsendBellLivery.jpg” title=”Photo Credit Jared DePouw”}Unveiling of Townsend Bell's Indy 500 livery{/boxplus}

Jared DePouw
Jared is the founder of but works as a small business accountant. He also officiates high school football and lacrosse in his free time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.